Oct. 15, 2015 Updated Paid Sick Leave FAQs Now Available from DLSE
The DLSE has updated its Frequently Asked Questions regarding California Paid Sick Leave compliance.
Californiaâs Paid Sick Leave law took full effect on July 1, 2015. On July 13, 2015, Governor Brown signed urgency legislation to amend and clarify the lawâs many (and often confusing) requirements. For information on the urgency legislation, see our July 14 E-Update.
The DLSE recently updated its California Paid Sick Leave Frequently Asked Questions. The updated FAQs incorporate changes resulting from the urgency legislation, and also address some of the most common questions submitted to the DLSE regarding the new law.
Of particular note is the incorporation of an August 2015 opinion letter in which the DLSE announced its view that employees are entitled to 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave per year, whichever is greater. To comply with this guidance, employers who issue paid sick leave to their employees in bulk at the beginning of each year must issue employees 24 hours or three days of leave, whichever is greater. So, for example, employees who typically work 10 hours per day must be issued 30 hours of paid sick leave at the beginning of the year. Likewise, employees who typically work shifts longer than eight hours are entitled to use three full days of accrued paid sick leave. For example, employees who typically work 10 hours per day can take up to three full days, or 30 hours, of paid sick leave, provided they have accrued that amount.
This E-Update was authored by Aaron Buckley. For more information, please contact Mr. Buckley or any other Paul, Plevin attorney by calling (619) 237-5200.